Sky High- Poetry Piece

Sky High

Clouds…

Being up in the clouds is like being in a dream

Or so you said

30 000 feet above reality and you hardly seemed real

There was a flame that sparked between us

It’s a wonder the flame didn’t set the plane ablaze

We were star-crossed lovers

 

Friends…

We said we were friends

Nothing more

 But everyone saw it before we did

30 000 feet above reality, I felt something

Something I didn’t dare name

And I knew you felt it too

The sparks between us had grown into a camp fire

Warm, Comfortable, Safe

 

Lovers…

Then we were lovers filled with nothing but passion

An unfamiliar passion that consumed both of us

Our eyes held the stars

Stars that danced with joy whenever our lips met

The camp fire was now a raging forest fire

Unable to be controlled by even the strongest force of nature

Our love was limited only by the infinite number of stars

 

Strangers…

Then it was over; over too quickly

Perhaps nothing as pure as our love is supposed to last

 But no longer can I go on a plane without the bittersweet memories flooding back

Memories of your face, of your eyes, of your lips

Maybe we’ll find each other again in the stars when the time is right

And we can be star-crossed lovers once again

Image result for star gazing gif

___________________________________________________________________________

This poem is about a friend who I realized I loved after travelling with him and being stuck on a plane next to him for 14 hours. We had a good run; one that was filled with passion, adventure and love. I know he doesn’t love me anymore, but I feel like I’ll always feel something for him. I have no bitter feelings towards him, but I don’t know if I can ever be friends with him though.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *